Are You Black Friday Ready?

The day is fast approaching, the frugal fashionista’s high holy day of the year, Black Friday. If you’re like me, this day is better than Christmas or any birthday. It is the shoppers Super Bowl. I don’t care about the flat screen TV’s or the newest video game system on sale; I care about the clothes.

To get the most out of Black Friday, it is important to plan ahead. Do not walk into a store blind. Before you venture out into the chaos, think about what you want. Are you getting a head start on your Christmas shopping or are you buying for yourself? Planning ahead like this will save you money and avoid impulse purchases.

The Black Friday ads will not be in print until Sunday Nov 20 in the paper, but you can get a sneak peak of the ads online. 2011 Black Friday Ads is a great place to start. It gives you a list of stores and their Black Friday deals. Also look for stores printable coupons, such as Macy’s, offering a $10 off coupon on Black Friday between certain hours.

Getting some of the best deals may mean skipping out on Thanksgiving dessert. Some stores are opening at 10 p.m. Thanksgiving night. And all the best deals are in the wee hours of the morning. Outlet malls are a great place to shop, the designer and outlet stores are practically giving their merchandise away.

I have always dreamed of a real leather jacket, and last Black Friday was when I finally got it. I scored a Calvin Klein black leather jacket, normally $500, for $150. This wasn’t too frugal of me, but how could I pass up a deal like that? A leather jacket is always in style, especially a real one, and I will have it for the rest of my life. I never regretted my decision. This steal was possible because I was in the market for real leather and Calvin Klein had everything in the store on sale plus the sales associates were handing out 10 percent of your entire purchase coupons when customers walked in. I planned, I did research, and I scored. I can only hope that this Black Friday will be as successful as my last.

If you choose to spend more time with the family at Thanksgiving and not to venture out, don’t worry, there is always Cyber Monday.

Good luck shoppers!

Here are some of my favorite places to shop:

Target opens at 12 midnight

Old Navy opens at 12 midnight

Kohls’s opens at 12 midnight

Cherry Hill mall opens at 5 a.m. (with some stores opening at 12 midnight)

Jersey Shore Outlets opens at 12 midnight (with some stores opening at 10 p.m.)

Leave a Reply

