Frugal Find: My Fair Lady Consignment Shop

I love when I hear about local shops and I am especially excited to tell you about the reopening of My Fair Lady Consignment Shop in downtown Pitman. After being closed for a short period of time, owner and former Rowan professor, Katherine Perez-Rivera, is reopening and revamping the business with a gear towards college students.

My Fair Lady specializes quality, in-season clothing, shoes and bags. They offer a great selection of vintage pins and jewelry from New York as well. Starting in March, the shop will have an open two hours once a week, where you can come to consign or to sell your clothes. It is just in time for some spring-cleaning!

To Consign – Call the store in the beginning of the week, starting in March, during store hours and see when they will be accepting clothing. During that time, you are welcome to come, no appointment needed; My Fair Lady will go through your goods and see if it is something the store could sell. If the clothes get the OK, they will hit the racks for 60 days. The store will give you a check at the end of each month for 40 percent of whatever sells. If your items don’t sell in the 60 days, My Fair Lady asks that you take back the clothes. The shop feels if it can’t be sold in that time period, then there is a good chance it won’t sell in the future. In my option, that is so refreshing! I’m used to constantly checking back and forth with other consignment shops and never knowing if and when it will sell. I love the 60-day rule!

To Sell: During the same open period, the store will also be accepting clothes to buy. My Fair Lady asks that the clothing comes in on hangers, clean and pressed, because they will be on the rack that day! If the store accepts the clothes and buys from you, there are two options; one is 15 percent in cash for whatever they will sell it for, or 30 percent store credit. I say, go for the store credit! The shop is filled with great items; it will be hard to walk away without buying anything!

For both consigning and selling, My Fair Lady asks that you only bring 15 items at a time, but there is no limit to how many times you can come a month.

Remember; call My Fair Lady, 856.256.0111, during store hours to get the details on the hours of consigning and selling. This all starts March 13, so open hours will be from 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., so mark your calendars!

Leave a Reply

