Pinching Pennies

It is hard for me to believe that I, along with my fellow senior journalism majors, graduate in just about a month. While at Rowan for two years, I learned about saving money and managing budgets while living on my own. In turn, dinners consisted of ramen or soup because it was just so darn cheap. I learned to take advantage of the free Rowan shuttle to Camden, making my commute to Philadelphia a quarter of the price. And you can bet, no matter what store I go into, I have my reusable totes in hand to get the extra discount.

I’m proud of my frugal ways, however, I would be much happier if I didn’t have to eat ramen ever again. All these things I look forward to saying sayonara to this May, but one thing I will be sad to see expire is my Rowan I.D. card, the card that held my meals, granted me entrance into Rowan events and, most importantly, gave me discounts at the mall. Even though I loathed the card all through my Rowan career, with my awkward picture and the constant stress over losing it and having to pay for a new one, I’m sad I will no longer reap the benefits from it.

No matter what year you are in at Rowan, make sure you are getting the most out of your Rowan I.D. card. Here are some stores that give students discounts as long as you have your handy dandy card with you!

1.) Ann Taylor – 20 percent off

2.) Ann Taylor Loft – 15 perfect off

3.) Banana Republic – 15 percent off

4.) Charlotte Russe – 10 perfect off

5.) Club Manaco – 20 percent off

6.) J. Crew – 15 percent off

7.) Juicy Couture – 15 percent off

8.) The Limited – 15 percent off

9.) Ralph Lauren Rugby – 15 percent off

10.) Steve Madden – 10 percent off

11.) Target.com – 10 percent off. (Note* online only!)

12.) Top Shop – 10 percent off

13.) Good Will – 15 percent off

14.) Urban Outfitters – 10 percent off on select days only

15.) Glassboro Thrift Village – 20 percent off

Want more? The website Unidays (https://www.myunidays.com/) is an all-access pass to all retailers who offer student discounts. No additional card is needed, just verify that you are a student and you can start saving.

Where else do you use your Rowan I.D. card? Leave a comment, let me know!

Leave a Reply

